News Detail

St. Margaret’s Inducts 26 Into International Cum Laude Society

The 26 new Tartan inductees join 13 current seniors who were inducted in 2021 as juniors.
St. Margaret’s inducted 13 seniors, 12 juniors and one professional community member into the prestigious Cum Laude Society, an international organization which recognizes and celebrates academic achievement. The new Tartan inductees join 13 current seniors inducted in 2021 as juniors.

The inductees were honored during Upper School Chapel, the first in-person Cum Laude Society ceremony since 2019. Led by Upper School teacher and Cum Laude Chapter President Alexandra Jennings, Head of School Will Moseley and Upper School teacher and narrator Dallas Clemmons, the ceremony also included a keynote speech by St. Margaret’s alumnus Nic Gitter ’17, a Cum Laude member who graduated from Tufts University and is now building a career as an independent music producer.

Mr. Gitter offered reflections of his time at St. Margaret’s and what he’s learned since his time on campus, centered around four pieces of advice: 1. You don’t know anything yet; 2. Live the moment; 3. Be ready to pivot; and 4. Say yes.

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 and identifies academic achievement through its motto: Areté (excellence), Diké (justice), Timé (honor). Chapters are established in schools of superior academic quality, and St. Margaret’s is one of just 382 chapters of the Cum Laude Society around the world and the only one in Orange County.

The new inductees join more than 300 St. Margaret’s students who have been inducted since 1986.
The Cum Laude Society limits membership to 20 percent of a school’s senior class, with only 10 percent eligible for induction as juniors. In addition to academic achievement, students must demonstrate good character, honor and integrity. To view a recording of the Cum Laude Ceremony, please click here (password: tartans)

Congratulations to the newest Cum Laude Society inductees!
Grade 12 Inductees:
Gavin Ashman
Emma Bernstein
Alex Georgiades
Halen Hickman-Goveia
Graden Huang
Charles Ihara
Sam Katz
Max Page
Jack Ruff
Mary Smith
William Stahl
Jane Taylor
Simone Yang
Grade 11 inductees:
Roy Cheng
Alexis Lindenfelser
Vanessa Liu
Tina Mai
Malcolm Matthew
Aili McGregor
Nadia Momtaz
Charlotte Newman
Kaitlin Tam
Devin Thomas
Kian Vargo
Lisa Zhang
Current seniors inducted in 2021 as juniors:
Preston Brinker
Kate Cruse
Skyla Cui
Aaron Fei
James Jiang
Parisa Khashayar
Trey Kingsley
Conrad Kistler
Chloe Lias
Aiden Momtaz
Jacob Sun
Charles Whiting
Dean Woods

Professional Community inductee:
Dr. Masami Stahr
Translation? ¿Traducción? 翻译?:

An Independent Preschool Through Grade 12 College-Preparatory Day School in Orange County California

Non-Discrimination Policy
St. Margaret's Episcopal School does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, sexual orientation or national and ethnic origin in the administration of its educational, admission, financial aid, hiring and athletic policies or in other school-administered programs.