St. Margaret’s Inducts 25 Students Into Prestigious International Cum Laude Society

St. Margaret’s inducted 15 seniors and 10 juniors into the prestigious Cum Laude Society, an international organization which recognizes and celebrates academic achievement. The new Tartan inductees join eight current seniors inducted in 2018 as juniors.

The new inductees were honored at a celebratory ceremony during Upper School Chapel, led by Upper School teacher and Cum Laude Chapter President Rocky Parker, Head of School Will Moseley and Upper School teacher and narrator Dallas Clemmons, all members of the Cum Laude Society. The keynote speaker was St. Margaret’s alumna Cristina Poindexter ’09, a Cum Laude member who graduated from Yale University and now works as an entrepreneur and technologist.

“I truly believe that no effort is ever wasted,” Ms. Poindexter told the students. “All our efforts add up, and they end up steering the direction our lives take.”

The Cum Laude Society was founded in 1906 and identifies academic achievement through its motto: Areté (excellence), Diké (justice), Timé (honor). Chapters are established in schools of superior academic quality, and St. Margaret’s is one of just 382 chapters of the Cum Laude Society around the world and the only one in Orange County.

The 25 new inductees join more than 300 St. Margaret’s students who have been inducted since 1986.

The Cum Laude Society limits membership to 20 percent of a school’s senior class, with only 10 percent eligible for induction as juniors. In addition to academic achievement, students must demonstrate good character, honor and integrity.

Congratulations to the newest Cum Laude Society inductees!

Grade 12 Inductees:
Madison Barkate
Andi Carnell
Nicklaus Falshaw
Declan Landau
Matthew Margason
Julia Martin
Rhiannon Parker
William Reinkensmeyer
Layla Shakerin
Michael Smith
Emily Sun
Sarah Thurin
John Wohlgemuth
Keely Yeargin
Kevin Zhu

Grade 11 Inductees:
Logan Burke
Serena Carson
Juliet Cushing
Lara Hairapetian
Samantha Hasani
Thomas Hughes
Colin Miehe
Soo Yeon Ryu
Emily Zhang
Grace Zhou

Current seniors inducted in 2018 as juniors:
Matthew Colglazier
Grant Kinsey
Gillian Mann
Romina Sahafi
Andrew Vollero
Jordan Westendorf
Taylor Wong
Natalie Yee
An independent preschool through grade 12 college-preparatory day school in Orange County, California
St. Margaret’s Episcopal School
31641 La Novia Avenue
San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675