St. Margaret’s Inducts 21 Into Prestigious International Cum Laude Society

As a celebrated international recognition of academic excellence, St. Margaret’s inducted 11 seniors, eight juniors and two faculty members into the prestigious Cum Laude Society during a celebratory ceremony during Upper School Chapel. The new inductees join 12 current seniors inducted in 2017 as juniors.

The Cum Laude Society, founded in 1906, is an international honors organization which identifies academic achievement through its motto:  Areté (excellence), Diké (justice), Timé (honor). Chapters are established only in schools of superior academic quality, and St. Margaret’s is one of just 382 chapters of the Cum Laude Society around the world and the only chapter in Orange County. More than 300 St. Margaret’s students have been inducted since 1986.

The ceremony was led by Upper School teacher and Cum Laude Chapter President Rocky Parker, Head of School Will Moseley and Upper School teacher and narrator Dallas Clemmons, all members of the Cum Laude Society.

They keynote speaker was St. Margaret’s alumna Kristina Mooradian ’08, a Cum Laude member who received her undergraduate degree at Cornell University and is currently finishing two postgraduate degrees at Northwestern University.

Ms. Mooradian spoke of one pillar of the Cum Laude motto, excellence, and encouraged students to think about what “excellence” will mean in their future pursuits.

“View excellence as a moving target, and always look for new ways to raise the bar,” she said.

The Cum Laude Society limits membership to 20 percent of a school’s senior class, with only 10 percent eligible for induction as juniors. In addition to academic achievement, elected students must demonstrate good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of student life.

Congratulations to the newest St. Margaret’s Cum Laude Society Inductees!
Grade 12 Inductees:
Julia DaMour
Danielle Drislane
Alexis-Marie Fintland
Aaron Garfinkle
Kinsale Hueston
Sahar Khashayar
Louisa Miller
Grace Miyamoto
Tejav Narayanan
Jada Thomas
James Whiting
Grade 11 Inductees:
Matthew Colglazier
Grant Kinsey
Gillian Mann
Romina Sahafi
Andrew Vollero
Jordan Westendorf
Taylor Wong
Natalie Yee
Faculty Inductees:
Alexandra Jennings
Gene Wie
Current seniors inducted in 2017 as juniors:
Colin Ballantyne
Clayton Chalmers
Skyler Cordrey
Tarika Gujral
Megan Huff
Justin Minn
Hye Won Na
Anthony Ryan
Andrew Shin
Emily Suh
Bryant Villamil
Makaela Weeda
An independent preschool through grade 12 college-preparatory day school in Orange County, California
St. Margaret’s Episcopal School
31641 La Novia Avenue
San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675