OCVarsity Lacrosse Postseason Awards Topped by Tartans

OCVarsity's end of year lacrosse awards are out, and a host of Tartans are recognized.

Boys Lacrosse Athlete of the Year - Kevin Groeninger

Rising senior Kevin Groeninger's lacrosse resume is an impressive one; 2017 & 2018 First Team All-Orange County, 2017 & 2018 U.S. Lacrosse All-American, 2018 U.S. Lacrosse Orange County Player of the Year, 2018 Orange County Champion and now, OCVarsity Boys Lacrosse Athlete of the Year. Groeninger, who had a banner campaign this spring, led the Tartan offense with 64 goals and 63 assists. Driving the Tartans to their first O.C. Championship since 2015, Groeninger scored two goals and had three assists in the final against Foothill High School.

Read more on OCVarsity.com.

Girls Lacrosse Athlete of the Year - Cailin Young

Graduated senior Cailin Young was a crucial element in the Tartans' spectacular 2018 championship season. Leading St. Margaret's through the U.S. Lacrosse postseason, Young was named the MVP of the Orange County Playoffs with a 12-goal and one-assist performance over four games. A two-time U.S. Lacrosse All-American and 2018 U.S. Lacrosse Orange County Player of the Year, Young is credited as a major part of the Tartans’ success by head coach Holly Reilly, "In her senior year, Cailin played with quiet confidence and determination. The Tartans’ success this season was a direct result of Cailin's leadership and execution on the field. I cannot think of a more deserving player of OC Varsity Girls Lacrosse Player of the Year."

This fall Young will take her talents to NCAA Div. I San Diego State University to play lacrosse for the Aztecs.

Read more on OCVarsity. com.

Girls Lacrosse Coach of the Year - Holly Reilly

Tartan head coach Holly Reilly took a gamble on a new defensive scheme to lead St. Margaret's to its first U.S. Lacrosse Southern Section Championship since 2008. With an 18-1 record and the postseason hardware to back it up, the new zone defense worked. Reilly, a defensive player and 2008 and 2009 All-American at Princeton University and member of the 2009 and 2013 U.S. Women's National Lacrosse Teams, has been instrumental to the Tartans’ return to prominence in girls lacrosse.

Read more on OCVarsity.com.

OCVarsity All-County Boys Lacrosse Honors:

First Team
Kevin Groeninger, St. Margaret’s, Attack, Jr.
Andrew Maita, St. Margaret’s, Defense, Sr.
Trevor Peay, St. Margaret’s, Midfield, Sr.
Stuart Pollard, St. Margaret’s, Face-Off Specialist, Jr.

Second Team
Duke Ballard, St. Margaret’s, Long-Stick Midfield, Jr.
Michael Chew, St. Margaret’s, Midfield, Sr.
Zane Handy, St. Margaret’s Goalie, Jr.
Max Martinez, St. Margaret’s, Defense, Sr.
Koa Todd, St. Margaret’s Midfield, Jr.

Third Team
Andy Shin, St. Margaret’s, Attack, Sr.
Nico Vorzimer, St. Margaret’s, Midfield, Jr.

OCVarsity All-County Girls Lacrosse Honors:

First Team
Maddie Barkate, St. Margaret’s Midfield, Jr.
Campbell Case, St. Margaret’s, Midfield, So.
Niki Miles, St. Margaret’s Attack, Jr.
Cailin Young, St. Margaret’s, Midfield, Sr.

Second Team
Jordan Miles, St. Margaret’s, Attack, Fr.

Third Team
Ashlee Caruana, St. Margaret’s, Defense, Jr.
Emily Suh, St. Margaret’s, Midfield, Sr.
An independent preschool through grade 12 college-preparatory day school in Orange County, California